Kevin T. McVary, MD, FACS

Division of Urology, Southern Illinois University School of Medicine, Springfield, IL, USA

Dr. Kevin T. McVary graduated withdistinction from Northwestern University, received his M.D. degree fromNorthwestern Medical School and completed a two year program in general surgeryat Northwestern University and Northwestern Memorial Hospital.  A four year urology training programfollowed.  This included a one yearurology research fellowship as the Urology Research Fellow investigating neuralinfluences on sexual reflexes. In addition, he was granted a Riba UrologyResearch Fellowship under the direction of Chung Lee, Ph.D. at Northwestern.Dr. McVary joined the staff at Northwestern Memorial Hospital and was aProfessor of Urology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine for23 years.  He served as the Director ofthe Center for Sexual Health at Northwestern Memorial Hospital, conducted theProstate Diseases Minimally Invasive Program, and was Director of the AndrologyFellowship Program at Northwestern Memorial Hospital.  In 2013 he joined the Division of Urology atthe Southern Illinois University School of Medicine located in Springfield, IL,his hometown. 

His primary clinical areas include prostatediseases including prostate cancer and BPH as well as the evaluation andtreatment of sexual function.  Dr. McVaryhas had an extensive experience conducting clinical trials for the NationalInstitute and Health and numerous private and industry foundations.

Dr McVary is the Chairman of the AUA BPHClinical Guidelines Committee, the Co-Chair of the International Consultationon Male LUTS and is the Associate Editor of the Journal of Urology. He has beennamed Chairman of the Special Emphasis Urology Study Section for the NIDDK. Heis Co-Chairman of the Clinical Section of the NIDDK Strategic Pathway forProstate Basic and Clinical Science.  Hehas also completed a 4 year stint on the American Board of Urology ExamCommittee.  He is the AUA HonorarySpeaker at the European Association of Urology (EAU) chosen by EAU members aswell as the SMSNA Honorary Speaker chosen by the European Sexual MedicineSociety (ESSM) membership. He was named a Sommer Lecturer at the University ofOregon 2008.

Terms of Appointment: Dec 2017 - Nov 2019