Gopal H. Badlani, MD

Department of Urology, Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center, Winston Salem, NC, USA

Gopal H. Badlani, MD, is currently professor of urology, vice chair for clinical affairs, and director of the Urogynecology Regenerative Medicine Program at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center in Winston-Salem, NC. Dr. Badlani was president of the New York Section of the AUA and has served on numerous AUA committees, including the Bylaws, Section Secretaries and Annual Program committees. He is the former president of the Endourological Society and the Association of Indian Urologists in North America.

Dr. Badlani serves on the National Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases Advisory Council of the National Institutes of Health and has served on the boards of the International Volunteers in Urology, the National Kidney Foundation, and the Society for Urodynamics and Female Urology, to name a few. He has held numerous editorial appointments throughout his career. He was the managing Editor of Journal of Endourology and the Journal of Videourology, and is currently editor of the AUANews.

In 2013, Dr. Badlani was one of three physicians nationwide selected to receive a Physician of the Year Award for Clinical Excellence from Castle Connolly Medical Ltd. The award recognizes physicians who exemplify excellence in clinical medical practice.

Dr. Badlani is a renowned expert in voiding dysfunction, specifically related to urinary incontinence, pelvic organ prolapse in women, male incontinence from prostate surgery and neurological disease. He has completed a number of trials for new minimally invasive treatments for benign prostate obstruction. He currently conducts research under two National Institutes of Health grants on identifying biomarkers for interstitial cystitis and using muscle precursor cells to treat incontinence in a nonhuman primate model.

Dr. Badlani completed his urological training at Long Island Jewish Medical Center in New York and a fellowship at Baylor University in 1983. He has been a member of the AUA since 1986.

Terms of Appointment: Mar 2012- Feb 2014, Mar 2014- Feb 2016, Mar 2016- Feb 2018